Filthy Friends (R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Sleater-Kinney’s Corin Tucker) share video for ‘Break Me’

Filthy Friends R.E.M. Peter Buck Sleater-Kinney Corin Tucker

Filthy Friends – a supergroup made up of Sleater-Kinney’s Corin Tucker, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Scott McCaughey, Kurt Bloch and Linda Pitmon – follow up the release of ‘Emerald Valley’ with the video for new single ‘Break Me’.

Written by Peter the day after Tom Petty died, the song tries to ‘capture how tough he (Petty) was yet how vulnerable to the world’ despite not actually being written about him. It has a classic swaying Shins-esque guitar-pop sound and an earworm of a melody you can’t help but hum. Like all good doses of nostalgia, there’s a healthy dose of melancholy as Corin sings: ‘Tonight there are no winners, tonight we’re all losers’.

Catch Filthy Friends on the following tour dates:

May 27 – Berlin, DE – Musik & Frieden
May 28 – Paris, FR – Petit Bain
May 29 – Dublin, IE – Button Factory – Ticketlink
May 30 – Oxted, UK – Barn Theatre – Ticketlink
May 31 – London, UK – The Garage – Ticketlink


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.