Villagers – ‘Summer’s Song’

Villagers Summer's Song stream

We’re almost halfway through July so of course Conor O’Brien’s Villagers are bringing some more sunshine into all of our lives with ‘Summer’s Song’. Produced by Conor and mixed by Dave Fridmann (MGMT, The Flaming Lips), Conor claims it’s ‘the closest I’ll ever get to writing a pure pop song’ and reveals ‘it was really just an excuse to make the horns sound like sunbeams’.

Featuring a chorus of the aforementioned six flugelhorns, the song combines elements of Americana, psychedelia and gorgeous melodies as Conor wistfully sings ‘The sun is overhead and your feelings fade. The summer’s in the air and you’re running away’. He proudly changes tack and declares ‘Summer’s song is in your heart’ before then vowing: ‘We’ll climb the sunlight one beam at a time’ – can we all join him on this journey? The animated video from Joe May Patricio Bauzá is equally drenched in sunshine-fuelled nostalgia.

Catch Villagers on the following live dates:

Fri 12th July – Iveagh Gardens, Dublin
Thurs 18th July – Galway Arts Festival, Galway
Fri 19th July – Cyprus Avenue, Cork
Sat 20th July – Ballykeeffee Amphitheatre, Kilkenny
Fri 2nd Aug – Festival N2, Chaves, Portugal
Wed 7th Aug – Moods Festival, Bruges, Belgium
Thurs 15th Aug – Edinburgh International Festival, Edinburgh
Fri 16th Aug – Green Man Festival, Abergavenny, Wales
Fri 23rd Aug – Open House Festival, Bangor
Fri 30th Aug – Into The Great Wide Open, Vlieland, Netherlands
Sat 31st Aug – Bruis Festival, Maastricht
Sun 1st Sept – Golden Leaves Festival, Darmstadt, Germany
Thurs 7th Nov – Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Fri 8th Nov – LantarenVenster, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Sat 9th Nov – Rolling Stone Park Festival, Rust, Germany
Mon 11th Nov – Zakk, Dusseldorf, Germany
Tues 12th Nov – Strom, Munich, Germany
Wed 13th Nov – UT Connewitz, Leipzig, Germany
Sat 16th Nov – Rolling Stone Beach, Weissenhauser Strand, Germany
Sun 17th Nov – Burgerweehuis, Deventer, Netherlands
Mon 18th Nov – Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
Tickets

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s