Orchards – ‘Sincerely Overwhelmed’

Orchards Sincerely Overwhelmed

Orchards have shared new single ‘Sincerely Overwhelmed’ ahead of the release of long-awaited debut album ‘Lovecore’ (out on 13 March via Big Scary Monsters).

A song that explores coming to terms with the fact you might not be handling difficult times as well as you think you are, it’s bursting with the four-piece’s trademark jaunty math-rock meets jangly indie-pop hooks from its very first note and finds Lucy Evers opening up about just how much comfort can be found in being honest with both yourself and others: ‘It’s too hard to describe the mechanics of my mind but believe me it’s true that I want to be honest with you. Can you call me when you get this?’

Lucy also warns ‘Make no excuses for me while I’m trying to fit into society’ as phone tones (and answers of ‘Hello’) are thrown into the mix while the song ends with a statement we can all learn from when we find ourselves scared to reach out: ‘It’s clear you’ve been sincerely overwhelmed, you think you do but you don’t hide it well’.

Catch Orchards on the following tour dates:

Monday 27th January Fulford Arms York, UK*
Tuesday 28th January Record Junkee Sheffield, UK*
Wednesday 29th January Lantern Halifax, UK*
Thursday 30th January Boileroom Guildford, UK*
Saturday 1st February Heartbreakers Southampton, UK*
Thursday 2nd April Hare & Hounds 2 Birmingham, UK
Friday 3rd April YES (Basement) Manchester, UK
Saturday 4th April Stereo Cafe Bar Glasgow, UK
Tuesday 7th April The Bodega Nottingham, UK
Wednesday 8th April OMEARA London, UK
Thursday 9th April Exchange Bristol, UK
Friday 10th April Clwb Ifor Bach Cardiff, UK
Saturday 11th April Chalk Brighton, UK
Tuesday 14th April Bouckenborgh Antwerp, Belgium
Wednesday 15th April Le Pop Up Du Label Paris, France
Thursday 16th April Blue Shell Cologne, Germany
Friday 17th April Cassiopeia Berlin, Germany
Saturday 18th April Molotow Skybar Hamburg, Germany

Sunday 19th April Cinetol Netherlands, Amsterdam

*Independent Venue Week tour supporting Indoor Pets

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s